League of Women in Government Announces 2018 Leadership Trailblazer Award Nominees

By LWG Editor

The League of Women in Government (LWG) and National Research Center, Inc. (NRC) are proud to announce the 2018 nominees for the inaugural Leadership Trailblazer Award. This award recognizes an accomplished leader in the local government profession who has championed and inspired other women to achieve as well.

“There are so many women in local government who are leading their organizations and their colleagues with courage and distinction. We wanted a way to acknowledge their efforts,” said Ashley Jacobs, President of the League. “We hope the award will not only spotlight the nominees and winner, but also honor the valuable work of all women in our profession.”

Nominations for this award were submitted primarily by local government professionals who wanted to see a dedicated colleague recognized on a national scale. A panel of judges from LWG and NRC will review each nomination and select the top ten finalists, as well as the final winner who will be announced at the League’s 3rd Annual Symposium on September 22nd in conjunction with the ICMA Conference in Baltimore, MD. This year’s award recipient will also be the first person inducted into the League of Women in Government Hall of Fame.

“Each of the women nominated came from a variety of backgrounds, experience and regions throughout the United States. They represent the incredible pool of talented women in government,” added Jacobs.

“To have been nominated for this award means that you’ve not only had a big impact on the community you’ve served, but also on your organization, and other women whom you’ve mentored and helped succeed,” said award judge and NRC survey researcher Damema Mann. “Women still make up less than 20 percent of executive level local government staff. It’s important to salute the accomplishments they have made, and their work in blazing the trail for future female leaders.”

The top ten finalists will be announced by the League the week of August 27th. Stay tuned!

To learn more about all of the nominees, click on each name:

Stacy Almond, City Manager, Lake Worth, TX

Pamela Antil, Assistant City Administrator, Santa Barbara, CA *

Julie Arendall, City Manager, Goodyear, AZ

Elizabeth Binsack, Director of Community Development, Tustin, CA

Judi Boyko, Assistant County Administrator, Hamilton County, OH

Bonny Davis, Treasurer, Springfield Township, PA

Kelly DiMartino, Senior Assistant City Manager, Fort Collins, CO

Jane Bais DiSessa, Deputy Mayor, Pontiac, MI

Kimberly S. Eagle, Assistant City Manager, Charlotte, NC

Kate Fitzpatrick, Town Manager, Needham, MA

Tasha Logan Ford, Assistant City Manager, Winston-Salem, NC

Angelique Gaeta, Chief of Staff, Valley Transportation Agency, CA

Sandra Garcia, Finance Director, Aransas Pass, TX

Patti Garcia, City Clerk, Loveland, CO

Anne Marie Gaura, Former City Manager, DeKalb, IL

Heather Geyer, City Manager, Northglenn, CO

Marion Grayson, Mayor, Belton, TX

Heather Grimes, CAO, Pasco County Clerk & Comptroller Office, FL

Amy Hamilton, City Manager, Richmond Heights, MO

Marcia Hampton, City Manaer, Douglasville, GA

Leah Simon Hayes, Senior Associate Attorney/Municipal Services, Houston, TX

Anne Haynes, Director of Transformative Development, MassDevelopment, MA

Kate Hodges, Assistant Town Manager, Concord, MA

Sandra Hutchens, Sheriff-Coroner, Orange County, CA

Mary Jacobs, Town Manager, Oro Valley, AZ

Karolyn Kent, Assistant City Manager, Mesa, AZ

Renee Koog, Lieutenant, Georgetown Police, GA

Nicole Lance, Assistant City Manager, Surprise, AZ

Sharon Landers, Former Assistant City Manager, Irvine, CA

Suzanne Loomis, City Engineer/Director of Public Works, Newton, KS

Andrea K. Lueker, Harbor Manager, Port San Luis Harbor District, CA

Dionne Mack, Deputy City Manager, El Paso, TX

Opal Mauldin-Jones, City Manager, Lancaster, TX

Peggy Merriss, City Manager, Decatur, GA

Leyne Milstein, Assistant City Manager, Sacramento, CA

Ina Minjarez, State Representative, 124th District, San Antonio, TX

Dina Minneci, City Manager, Indian Hill, OH

Azalea Mitch, City Engineer, Menlo Park, CA

Laure Ann Morgan, City Secretary/Interim City Manager, Hemphill, TX

Julia Novak, Former City Manager & President, The Novak Consulting Group, OH

Anna N. Roach, Chief Strategy Officer, Fulton County, GA

Dianne S. Robertson, Village Administrator, Thiensville, WI

Lydia Romero, City Manager, Lemon Grove, CA

Jacque Russell, Director of Human Resources, Topeka, KS

Cynthia Seelhammer, Interim & Former City/County Manager, Coconino County, AZ

Susan Sherman, Assistant City Manager, Olathe, KS

Kelly Shoemaker, Deputy County Administrator, Charlotte County, FL

Mindi Snyder, City Manager, El Campo, TX

Ginger Spencer, Public Works Director, Phoenix, AZ

Paula Thaqi, Director of Department of Health, Broward County, FL

Beverly B. Thompson, Public Affairs Director, Durham, NC

Kimberly Bizor Tolbert, Chief of Staff, Dallas, TX

Rosie Truelove, Director of Neighborhood Housing & CD, Austin, TX

Valmarie H. Turner, Assistant County Administrator, Loudoun County, VA

Lee Woodward, City Secretary, Huntsville, TX

Kirsten Wyatt, Executive Director, ELGL



*NOTE: As the League of Women in Government Chief Administrative Officer, Pamela Antil is not eligible to be considered as a Finalist for the Leadership Trailblazer Award.